Hi there, I’m Syed

Heya,

Oh, look, another blogger!
Don’t worry, I’ll try to make this as conversational as possible, try to keep y’all engaged.

Alright, let’s start with the tangibles:
I’m a 5’9 athletic, brown boy. Born in the good ‘ol US of A in the City that never sleeps. Family and personal identity are from the Land of the Pure, Pakistan! You’d probably be able to tell that by the very large, and well-groomed if I may say so myself, beard on my face.

Currently, I’m an undergrad at the grand University of Texas at Austin. I love football, or as we say it SAW-cur, and am a die-hard fan of Manchester United, UNarguably the greatest football club in existence, no bias, shoutout Jose Mourinho. So much so, I have the four United jerseys I own hanging on my wall. At least it’s a healthy outlet, ya know. Oh, I also love music. It’s to the point where I love learning about music from all over the globe. And I know, here’s what you’re probably thinking:

                  “MAKING PLAYLISTS ON SPOTIFY DOESN’T MAKE YOU SPECIAL!”

I get that. But, c’mon guys, let me revel as an average music critique. After all, it is a form of escape. Alright, aside from that you, might also get the occasional landscape photography from me. I’ve learned to see the aesthetic beauty in our surrounding day to day life. Here’s a little preview of the stuff I’m talking about, nothing too fancy:

fullsizeoutput_b

Oh yeah, almost forgot, I’m super opinionated. Right, so what better way to let off all this steam than typing it away angrily on a keyboard to myself while my two little cousins have their education slashed by $3.2B? Hopefully, some of y’all agree. Hopefully, people that don’t agree also read this! More than anything, I hope I can encourage thoughtful, meaningful discourse! I like to live a life in which I try not to withhold from being myself, and this blog will be 100% that, ladies and germs. I know that y’all enjoy scathing reviews and this sociology major is full of them.

A little about my personal background:

Born in New York City, what’s good Empire State, in Queens. My then 19-year-old mom lived in Rockaway.  She then divorced, moved back to Karachi, Pakistan with a chubby one year old named Syed Shahzar Ahmed. Shortly after, she re-married and off we went to the Queen’s place, London, England. Lived there for about 2 years, went to Pre-K there btw, and then came to the good ol’ Great State, Texas. My uncle, the oldest of my mom’s 3 siblings, had moved to Houston by 1999, so my family, all of them from Karachi, moved to the states by 2000. By this point, I was 5 and then at the age of 7, my mom moved back to London with her then second husband. I want to preface this by saying that my mother is THE strongest person I know and that all of her actions and accomplishments are her’s and her’s alone! Now, this is where it all gets interesting, y’all. Since the age of 7, I’ve been living in Houston with my grandparents, oldest and only uncle and youngest aunt.

Life’s been fun. I’ve already got some global flyer miles under my belt, visiting England, Pakistan, and the U.A.E. Met some amazing people along the way. Doing great with my life. Friends, family, peace of mind, ya know. What more can a budding 21 year old in the weird city of Austin ask for? Oh, one thing. Travelling some more. Yeah, that’s the one.

Hopefully, y’all made it this far, and if you did, you did me a great service by reading my story. Hopefully, this is just the beginning of a long and prosperous journey.

Allah Hafiz,

Syed Shahzar Ahmed

Leave a Reply

